Hide last minute, profile picture …

You can adjust privacy in Telegram easily and it has all kinds of options that we can customize according to what we need, depending on how we are going to use the application. Just like on WhatsApp, you can remove the last time connected but you can also block them from seeing if you are online or not.

Username

Telegram does not need your phone number to speak to you or to add you to groups. It is not mandatory to have a username and it will just make sense if you want to be found or they don’t have your number. If you do not care, you can continue doing it like on WhatsApp: you give your number.

Basically you can have an alias or username and they can search for you through it publicly in the Telegram search engine. Once you have it, you can also give people a link in which your username will be written And by opening that link on their mobile they can automatically start a conversation with you on Telegram and you can talk to them as if you had their number. But without giving your number. This will greatly improve privacy and security because it will be enough to eliminate or block them and they will not be able to contact you or call you or send you messages through other applications.

Even if they write to you and you answer, even if you have a conversation, Telegram will never show your phone number to that person unless you do it yourself. You can choose the username by following some simple steps:

  • Open your Telegram app
  • Go to the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Tap on “Settings”
  • You will see “Username” in the “Bill”
  • Tap on this option
  • Enter your username
  • Confirm and save

Telegram username - Privacy settings

To delete the username, you simply have to follow these steps and leave the space empty. It will not alter your existing conversations and they will not be deleted.

Last time and online

Beyond the fact that they do not know your number, you can also modify the privacy settings on Telegram so that you do not know if you are online or not, for example.

  • Go to your Telegram application
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Look for the section “Privacy and security”
  • Here you will see seven different options:
    • Blocked
    • Phone number
    • Last time and online
    • Profile picture
    • Forwarded messages
    • Calls
    • Groups and channels
  • Choose “Last time and online”
  • You will see three options
    • Everyone
    • My contacts
    • No one

Choose the one you want depending on whether you want everyone to see you online or know what time you have connected Or check “My contacts” if you want only the people you have in the phone book to know. You can also block it so that nobody sees it. Keep in mind that you will not see the status last time or online in people who do not see you as you have configured. Yes you will see something approximate of the type “a few days ago” or “a few weeks ago”

Last minute and online - Privacy on Telegram

One of the advantages of the privacy settings in Telegram compared to WhatsApp is that we can choose specific users with whom not to share.

  • Follow the previous steps
  • Tap on “Add exceptions”
  • Click on “Do not share with …”
  • Add users to your agenda

These people will not see your last minute or online connection.

Profile picture

You can also choose to have your profile picture seen by your contacts or all.

  • Open Telegram
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Go to Settings
  • Open the Privacy and security section
  • Tap on Profile picture
  • Choose
  • Add exceptions
  • Choose the people from your agenda that you want to add

Profile picture on telegram

Groups and channels

Telegram groups differ from channels in that in these you can write as one but the channels consist in that you can read information set by the creator or the administrators. Both you and others can join through a link but the creator could also add you. Unless you block it from the privacy settings of the application.

  • Open Telegram
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Go to Settings
  • Tap on Privacy and security
  • Opens the section “Groups and channels”
  • Choose who can add you
  • Add exceptions to the general rule

Groups - Telegram privacy settings

Other security options

Beyond the above, following the same steps you will find other security options that will help us have better privacy. For example, from here we can choose who can make calls and who can add a link to your account when forwarding messages, adding or not exceptions. You will find these two options in the same way as the previous ones: from the “Privacy and security” section and playing in the different groups and subsections.

Active sessions

Beyond what you will see between the privacy options and that protect you from your contacts or what they can do or see, there are other Telegram options that will improve your security with the application. How to close all active sessions or check where the session was opened, on what devices and when, from which IP, etc. You can consult them, delete them and close all sessions in case you have been able to leave an account open on your work computer, at the university, etc.

  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Open Settings in the options menu
  • Tap on the “privacy and security” section
  • Scroll to the bottom
  • Tap on “Active sessions”
  • You will see the current session and all active sessions
    • Application used / Web version
    • Telephone / Computer
    • IP adress
    • Location
    • Connection date
  • Tap on “Close all other sessions”

Activity sessions

Delete my account if I am away

Another advantage of Telegram is that your account will self-destruct after a while if you have not used it. If you are not at least once during the chosen period, the account will be deleted and also all your chats and all your contacts. It is useful in case you have lost your mobile phone or you have simply uninstalled the application and you do not want your conversations to continue there even if you do not use them.

  • Open Telegram
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Go to Privacy and security
  • Tap on
  • Delete my account if I am away
  • Choose the time you want to be removed
    • One month
    • Three months
    • Six months
    • One year

Autodestruccion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *