Whatever the reason you have, you can delete the Telegram account, delete active sessions, uninstall the application. We explain the difference between all these options and which one is the most convenient for you.
What is the purpose of deleting the account?
You can uninstall the application if you don’t want to use it anymore, if you don’t talk to anyone or if you do not use channels or groups or bots that are in it. But uninstalling it will not delete your user or your messages. That is, people will be able to keep trying to contact you even if you don’t receive it or don’t see it. It will continue to be there temporarily for several months until you remove it completely. Uninstall the app it is not to delete the Telegram account but to stop having access to it. Your messages are not deleted And you can see them again whenever you want, just download the application again and log in with your phone number.
You can delete the Telegram account forever, without going back. But you cannot do it from your mobile phone or from the messaging application, you will have to go to a specific page that Telegram has enabled for this purpose. It won’t take long and you can permanently delete your account.
To do this, go to the corresponding website:
Go to the specific Telegram page to delete your account and you will see that there is a form where you must enter your phone number. It is important that write the country code before writing the number in question. In the case of Spain you will have to put the +34 before putting any other number. If you live in another country, find what your specific code is and write it in the corresponding box that you will see on the screen on the web.
Once you have written it, you will receive a confirmation code on your mobile phone. Automatically the code will appear in a Telegram chat window so you must have the app installed and open or on your mobile phone or computer. Copy the code and enter it in the web you have open to continue with the process of deleting the Telegram account.
Once you have it, confirm with “Delete”. You can choose the reason why you want to delete it in the box “Why are you leaving?” but it is not mandatory to do so. When you have already filled in all your information, tap on “Delete my account” to confirm the process and completely delete the account you had.
There will be no going back when you do this, will be removed forever everything in your application: chats, contacts that you do not have stored, activity with bots, groups or channels you are in, etc. You can always use Telegram again with the same phone number but you will have to start from scratch to add contacts, etc.
Uninstall the app
Uninstalling the app is the best method if you want to disconnect for a while but without deleting everything you have. You can leave it for a month, two months or three months (or whatever you want) and when you return you will find everything just as you were. Messages will continue to arrive, but your contacts will know that you do not read them because they will not see the double tick or because the connection time indicates that you have not opened the app for a long time. Even so, you can always recover your conversations, your contacts or the groups you were in. You can uninstall and install again as many times as you want or need.
The most common way to delete the account in Telegram is the self-destruct button that helps us to delete itself when we do not use it. ANDit is activated automatically Even if you don’t know what it is and it causes your account to be deleted six months after the last time you used it. If you haven’t been online in six months, everything on it is automatically removed without you doing any of the above. Unrecoverable. But you can also configure self-destruction so that it takes as long as you want to delete the account. So you can not worry if you get tired of Telegram and you forget to delete it. It is easy and you can do it from the app. In addition, you can change the period of time as much as you want and it is not reversible because you can activate it, deactivate it, etc.
To cancel self-destruction, just with being online for a few seconds and automatically the period will start again. That is to say, you can’t make there not be a period of self-destruction But you can delay it as much as possible and just log on to Telegram a couple of times a year to start counting again. You should also bear in mind that the app is not deleted from your smartphone but the account is deleted and you will see it when you enter it.
- Open the Telegram application on your smartphone or tablet
- Use the three lines in the upper left corner
- If you have two profiles in the app, choose one of them
- Tap in the Settings section
- Open “Privacy and security”
- Search for “Account self-destruct”
- You will see four options
- One month
- Three months
- Six months
- One year
- Choose the period you want to be deleted
- The window will be closed automatically
- The configuration will be saved
You can’t disable it but you can choose “one year”. Every year you only have to open Telegram once so that your account is not deleted. If you want to delete the Telegram account as soon as possible, you will only have to mark “one month” and not log in during those days. After that time, it will be deleted.
Delete active sessions
Deleting the Telegram account is not the same as deleting active sessions, but in this case it is a way to delete your account from certain computers or devices that you are no longer using. If you have left your chats open on a public computer, you can close the sessions remotely.
- Open the Telegram application on your mobile
- Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
- Open app settings
- Tap on “Active Sessions”
- You will see all the information of the current open sessions
- Tap on “Close all other sessions”
- Log in wherever you want and where you will use it again
Once this is done, you will not have anything open on any computer or mobile that you are not using and that could be a risk to your privacy.