How to recover a deleted photo from Google Photos

Google Photos is the application par excellence in Android to save all your photos safely. It is even possible to save Facebook photos in it, with the new function that was recently launched in Spain. Having the photos safely is important, although we can also make mistakes when we are using this application. Since we can delete one or more images by mistake.

It is possible that by mistake you have deleted an image from your account in Google Photos. If this has happened to you, the application provides us with a method to recover this image, so that we can repair the error. Recovering deleted images in the application is not complicated, we show you how it is achieved.

Recover deleted photos in Google Photos

Delete an image by mistake something that for sure most has happened to us on occasion. Fortunately, Google Photos allows us to recover a photo before losing it forever. In addition, the application also introduces tools to prevent us from deleting a photo forever, if this is not our intention. Without going to these extremes, if we have mistakenly deleted an image from the gallery, there is the possibility of recovering it.

The application has a recycle bin, where the photos we have deleted are kept for 60 days. This gives us enough time to recover any image that we have deleted in our account in the application. The steps to recover a photo are:

  1. Open Google Photos on your phone.
  2. Click on the three horizontal stripes at the top left of the screen.
  3. Enter Trash.
  4. Find the photo you want to recover.
  5. Press and hold on the photo.
  6. Click Restore.
  7. The photo returns to the gallery.

The process is simple, as you can see. In addition, since the images that we have deleted are kept for 60 days in the application’s trash, we have plenty of room to recover them. It is advisable check the trash every so often, in case there is one or more images that should not be there, since this way they can be restored before they disappear from the trash without being able to do anything else.

Photos hidden in the gallery?

As we showed you a few months ago, there is the possibility of hiding photos from the gallery in Google Photos. It is possible that the photo you cannot find in the gallery has not been deleted, but it is hidden. This means that it is still in our account in the application, only that we have to look elsewhere to find it. The photos that have been hidden are saved in the archive. We show you the steps to see if it is in said file:

  1. Open Google Photos.
  2. Click on the three horizontal stripes.
  3. Enter Archive.
  4. Find the photo.
  5. Press and hold on the photo.
  6. Click Unarchive.
  7. The photo returns to the gallery.

Activate Backup and Sync

An option that can prevent many annoyances when using Google Photos is the use of backup and sync. It is a service that automatically saves your photos and videos in your Google account. Thanks to this option, you can save the photos or videos that are in the account, so that we will not lose anything, and thus recover a photo if we have mistakenly deleted it. The steps to activate this option are:

  1. Open Google Photos
  2. Open the application’s side menu.
  3. Enter Settings.
  4. Go to the «Backup and sync«
  5. Activate the backup option.
  6. Select the image quality, choosing: “High quality (free unlimited storage)”, that way it does not matter how much space the person has in their Google account, since the photographs will not occupy anything.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *