A small but significant change by Google could result in photos sent via WhatsApp no longer being saved automatically. Users are at risk of total photo loss. To prevent this, a certain setting must be changed. GIGA reveals what smartphone owners have to do now.
With Google Photos, the search engine provider has created a useful app that works on millions of smartphones. The most practical feature is the automatic backup: every photo taken is saved in the Google cloud if desired. By default, this also applies to the media folders that messengers like WhatsApp and Co. create – but that’s over now.
WhatsApp and Co .: Google deactivates automatic photo backup
As Google reports in its own support forum, the standard backup of such media folders will be removed in the future. The US group wants to save resources, reports Android Police. For the user, this means that photos and videos that are received via WhatsApp and other messengers are no longer automatically saved. For example, if you regularly delete the files from your cell phone because you believe that they are stored on Google Photos anyway, you will face total photo loss in the future.
In addition to WhatsApp, other messengers and social media apps are also affected. These include, for example, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat or Twitter and Viber.
Do you already know this photo trick for WhatsApp?
Reactivate automatic photo backup – how it works
However, users of WhatsApp or Instagram do not have to panic, because with a small change the backup can be reactivated via Google Photos. To do this, you have to select in the settings of the Google Photos app and there under “Backup & Sync” which media folders should be backed up by which apps. Google wants to inform users about the change in the coming days. Data that has already been backed up is not affected; it remains available as a backup in Google Photos.