What is it and how to configure

If you do not use Telegram regularly or if you are worried that you will stop using it in the future and messages continue to arrive, you can have it removed. You do not have to eliminate it immediately, but you will program self-destruction so that it is deleted after a while if you stop using the application permanently.

Keep in mind that if you program self-destruction on Telegram and is completely removed you will lose everything: you will lose your contacts, all your messages and your account. If you want to have one again you will have to re-register in the application with your phone number and a nick to start again. But you will have lost the contacts with whom you speak and who do not have the phone number.

What is self-destruction?

As we have explained in previous paragraphs, this Telegram function allows the account to be deleted after a while if you are not online at least once during that period. The application will not be removed from your smartphone but your account will be deleted and when you log back in, your data, your chats and your contacts will not be there. The application will still be there and you will have to uninstall it manually. It will also work if you uninstall the app and forget the account: after a while they will no longer be able to write to you because you will not appear as available with a user profile.

How to activate

You can activate and deactivate it whenever you want or change the corresponding period so it doesn’t matter if you regret it. It is not irreversible. You can schedule self-destruction on Telegram and within two months deactivate it if you have regretted it. Or in a month. Although to restart or pause the period, it is enough to be online for a few seconds and the countdown will be canceled to delete your account.

To activate it, the steps are very simple:

  • Open your Telegram application on your mobile phone
  • Go to the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Choose the profile in case you have two associated numbers
  • Tap on Settings
  • Access the Privacy and security section
  • Find the option “Delete my account”
  • Tap to open the different options
  • A drop-down menu “Account self-destruction” will appear.
    • One month
    • Three months
    • Six months
    • One year
  • Choose the period of time you want
  • The popup will close automatically
  • It will have been configured

As you can see, there is no way to disable Telegram self-destruction and the best you can do is configure it so that it does not get removed until after a year. If you want to “deactivate” this option, simply enter the app and go online. As we have explained, the period will restart and you will have another twelve months not to enter.

Enabled by default

You must take into account that Telegram has activated this function automatically even if you do not touch it or know that it exists until you read this. By default it arrives configured in the application when you create an account and it is marked as self-destruct in six months although you can change it as many times as you want.

Delete active sessions

Close the sessions It is not the same as closing your account. In the first case, we will close the possibility of accessing chats from a device but always with the option to start a new session and recover our contacts or conversations. In the second case, closing the account implies losing everything.

Active sessions can be closed if you want to improve your privacy and it will not affect your chats at all. It is useful if you have been able to leave something open on a public computer or on a computer that someone else will use, at work or at home.

  • Open Telegram on your mobile
  • Tap the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Open Settings in the app options menu
  • Find the section Active sessions
  • You will see which is the current session open and which ones are at that moment
    • Application used or web version
    • Telephone / Computer
    • IP adress
    • Location
    • Connection date
  • Tap on “Close all other sessions”
  • Login only where you want and where you will use it

Activity sessions - Privacy settings on Telegram

Delete account forever

There is no way to automatically delete your account from the application except to bet on self-destruction. What you will have to do is configure it to self-destruct in a month and not touch the application again in that period of time. It is the fastest option from the settings and the only one possible but not the only one.

Telegram has a specific page to delete your account automatically and in the shortest possible time. Simply fill out a form with our associated phone number (don’t forget that you have to enter the international code, which in Spain is +34) and you will receive a confirmation code. This confirmation code can be seen in a chat within the application itself and you will have to enter it on the previous website to complete the process.

Delete Telegram account

Once the code has been received and written on the web to delete your Telegram account, confirm in “Delete” and confirm the cancellation by writing your phone number and explaining why you are going to permanently delete your account. You can write the reasons or not, it is not mandatory to fill in this field. Confirm with “delete my account”.

Delete account permanently

Unlike self-destruction, this will have no turning back and is irreversible. You cannot recover your account once it is deleted, so if you are going to regret it, you’d better bet on the previous method and have time to think about it.

I do not want to use Telegram but neither lose my chats

If you want to stop using Telegram temporarily or not get notifications or do not want to respond, simply uninstall it. Uninstall the messaging app from your mobile or computer and you will stop receiving or accessing conversations. When you reinstall it, if you regret it, everything will stay in place as long as not too long has passed and the self-destruct deadline has been met. You can uninstall and install Telegram as many times as you want and you will not see any changes to your account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *